Supplements Come in Several Forms
There are several ways supplements are manufactured. Among these are tablets, capsules, or softgels. Tablets are forged together with the dietary ingredients and some fillers to help keep the tablet together. The biggest drawback to tablets is the fact that not only are you getting the ingredients you want, but also getting artificial substances that manufacturers use to keep the tablet in one piece. Softgels are a gelatin base shell surrounding the liquid fill of the ingredient claimed on the label of a product.
Capsules are becoming more and more popular as the absorption rate of capsules is faster than that of tablets. Capsules offer a virtually tasteless enclosure and it’s easier to swallow. There are two different types of capsules. They come in gelatin and vegetable cellulose.
- Often Tasteless
- Easier to Swallow
- No Need for Fillers
- Quick Absorption Rate
Gelatin vs Vegetable Cellulose Capsules
Although nearly identical in appearance, there are some differences that set them apart. Gelatin capsules are derived from animal parts from bovine or pigs. This also makes it difficult for people that do not consume pork due to religious reasons, such as kosher diets, to get the supplementation they need to complement their diet.
Veggie capsules offer another option for people that do not want to take their supplements enclosed in gelatin. Vegetarian capsules even provide benefits to customers who have no moral qualm with the consumption of pork.
The advantages that vegetarian capsules have over gelatin capsules, apart from being apt for different lifestyles and diets, are that gelatin capsules have a lower tolerance to heat and humidity than veggie capsules. Therefore, gelatin capsules do not offer stability when stored for longer periods of time.
Another advantage that vegetable cellulose capsules have over gelatin is the rate that it dissolves in the stomach. Veggie capsules dissolve faster and can release its contents to be consumed by the body at a more effective pace.
Nowadays, people are making lifestyle changes to a vegetarian or vegan diet. Going on a non-meat diet would likely make it difficult for them to consume dietary supplements that are encapsulated with gelatin capsules.
Veggie Capsule Advantages
- Quicker absorption rate
- Kosher & Vegetarian friendly
- Higher Tolerance to Heat & Humidity
Nature’s Health Veggie Capsules
Nature’s Health offers vegetable cellulose capsules as an alternative to gelatin capsules. These capsules offer the same advantages to their gelatin counterparts with regards to storage advantage, durability, pre-measured doses, tastelessness, and ease of intake.
Since they contain no animal byproducts, vegetable cellulose capsules are deemed friendly to vegetarian-minded consumers as well as individuals with looking for a kosher solution. Most of our products are now available in vegetable cellulose capsules. Just look on the label for “Veggie Capsules”.